I Rode On the Bus Today

I rode on the bus today

She said beaming with pride

I rode on the bus today

And it was quite a ride

It took over an hour

Each way there and back

I met some new riders

And remembered how to act

There was Barbara

Who was blind from Diabetes

And Sheila who said

I am sad with the way dialysis treats us

We drove across town on campus

Past the Follett’s

And picked up Gary

Who had lost his wallet

We headed to the bus barn

So he could get a new pass

I wrote during the stillness

But the stillness didn’t last

The hum of the motor

And the roar of the bus

Soon led me to realize

Riding was not a fuss

 

 

Leave a Reply

