Stigma

Why mental illness has such a stigma 

Remains to me such an enigma

I have an illness I am NOT mentally ill

And for that illness I take some pills

If I had diabetes or epileptic fits

You wouldn’t tell me to snap out of it

You wouldn’t say I am diabetic 

I wouldn’t worry about all the rhetoric 

People in the news committing crimes

ten more times

that is the times you are likely to be a victim 

If you experience mental illness symptoms 

Try living a day inside my shoes 

Your empathy would soon improve

Voices and sheesties 

Nothing you can do to escape these

Terror and fright 

Fight or flight 

Of course there is nothing REAL to fight 

So I remain terrified

Leave a Reply

